John 14:10-12:
“[10] Don’t you believe that I am in the Father, and that the Father is in me? The words I say to you I do not speak on my own authority. Rather, it is the Father, living in me, who is doing his work. [11] Believe me when I say that I am in the Father and the Father is in me; or at least believe on the evidence of the works themselves. [12] Very truly I tell you, whoever believes in me will do the works I have been doing, and they will do even greater things than these, because I am going to the Father.”
and John 14:20:
“[20] On that day you will realize that I am in my Father, and you are in me, and I am in you.”
when taken together imply directly that God is within you. And through that, you can do essentially anything (“greater works than Christ” basically implies doing anything). Furthermore, Luke records Christ’s explanation that the “Kingdom of God/Heaven is within you” (Luke 17:21), where “Kingdom of God/Heaven” has been described as in its simplest form “being with God for eternity.” The conclusion one must draw from the Bible if looking at explicit verses is that our most basic nature is God. The deepest part of our being is God, and if you can fully take Christ as an example, you can tap into that infinite potential. Conclusion: according to the Bible we all have Christ-nature at the deepest level of our being, just as Buddha taught that we have Buddha-nature, and Krishna taught that we have a soul synonymous with God which is Him.

The implications which follow from this are needless to say, highly profound, as everything expounded by the Eastern religions (and Buddhism in particular) now becomes highly relevant to Christians. Having “an eternal unity with God” with you (Luke 17:21) and being one with the one who is one with God (Christ [John 14:20]) are fairly clear in delineating our unity with the Absolute. If that’s not enough John 14:12 says that through realizing this unity with the Absolute we obtain something akin to omnipotence. I’ll be continuing this look at how Christians can learn valuable lessons from Eastern texts that take this conclusion further in future posts.